Showing posts with label action. Show all posts
Showing posts with label action. Show all posts

Monday, October 15, 2012

Must Watch Movies ... 11


101. The General's Daughter - English (1999)
Director: Simon West
Writers: Cristopher Bertolini, Nelson DeMille (Novel)
Cast: John Travolta, Madeleine Stowe, James Cromwell, Timothy Hutton Leslie Stefanson and others



102. Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows Part 1 – English (2010)
Director: David Yates
Writers: Steve Kloves, J.K. Rowling (Novel)
Stars: Daniel Radcliffe, Emma Watson, Rupert Grint, Bonnie Wright, Ralph Fiennes and others




103. Mumbai Pune Mumbai - Marathi (2010)
Director: Satish Rajwade
Writers: Satish Rajwade, Parag Kulkarni
Stars: Swanil Joshi, Mukta Barve


104. Pandharichi Wari – Marathi (1988)
Director: Ramakant Kavrekar
Stars: Jayashree Gadkar, Raja Gosavi, Ashok Saraf, and others



105. Saransh - Hindi (1984)
Director: Mahesh Bhatt
Writers: Mahesh Bhatt
Stars: Anupam Kher, Rohini Hattangadi, Soni RaZdan and others



106. Die Hard With Vengeance – English (1995)
Director: John MacTiernan
Writers: Johnathan Hensleigh, Roderick Thorp
Stars: Bruce Willis, Jeremy Irons, Samuel Jackson and others



107. Die Hard 4.0 – English (2007)
Director:Len Wiseman
Writers:Mark Bomback
Stars: Bruce Willis, Justin Long, Timothy Olyphant, Maggie Q, Cliff Curtis, Mary Elizabeth Winestead and others



108. Jerry Maguire - English (1996)
Director: Cameron Crowe
Writers: Cameron Crowe
Cast: Tom Cruise, Cuba Gooding Jr., Rene Zellweger, Kelly Preston, Jerry O'connell, Regina King, and others



109. My Cousin Vinny- English (1992)
Director: Jonathan Lynn
Writers: Dale Launer
Stars: Joe Pesci, Ralph Macchio, Marisa Tomei, and others



110. The Hangover – English (2009)
Director:Todd Phillips
Writer: Jon Lucas, Scott Moore
Stars: Bradley Cooper, Ed Helms, Zach Galifiankis, Justin Bartha, Heather Grahm and others









Saturday, December 18, 2010

SALT


Movie Review “SALT” (2010)


Genre: Action, Adventure, Suspense
Director: Phillip Noyce
Language: English
Star Cast: Angelina Jolie, Liev Schreiber, Chiwetel Ejiofor, Daniel Olbrychski, August Diehl
Written By: Kurt Wimmer, Brian Helgeland

Well I have to admit first, my only reason for watching this movie was Angelina Jolie. She is only actress who can sell an action movie to audience convincingly. Her commitment for this role is commendable. I really admire her for her commitment and acting ability. She is one of the highest paid actresses in Hollywood and that is not just because she is hot and beautiful. Let’s talk about movie now.
In this movie Angelina Jolie played CIA operative Evelyn Salt.  She finds herself in trouble when one Russian spy labels her Russian Spy working against the US government during interrogation. Now is this accusation true or not, that’s what we find out through some crazy action. What’s interesting to watch is that, historical cold war situation between US and Russia is used at the backdrop for motives.
Movie starts off with slow pace but gains momentum with every scene. Angelina Jolie carries all her action scenes extremely well and with ease. Twist in the story was good but I didn’t like the climax much. It is so obviously hinted that there will be sequel. Well I personally won’t mind a sequel. Any Angelina Jolie movie is must watch for movie. But other than that if I have to rate this movie I will give it 7 out of 10.





















Tuesday, December 14, 2010

DABANGG

Movie Review “DABANGG” (2010)


Genre: Action
Director: Abhinav Kashyap Singh
Language: Hindi
Star Cast: Salman Khan, Vinod Khanna, Sunakshi Sinha, Dimple Kapadia, Mahesh Manjarekar, Arbaz Khan, Malaika Arora Khan, Mahi Gill, Tinu Anand, and others


The days of hardcore Bollywood Masala / Action movies are back. After ‘Ghajini’ and ‘Wanted’ here comes another movie of that genre ‘DABANGG’. In 1980s this genre was highest grosser in Bollywood after that Sunny Deol kept it alive for long long time. But for some reason this genre was on the verge of extinction. But it seems like Salman Khan took it upon himself to rejuvenate this genre. After ‘WANTED’ with heavy modern action Salman Khan comes up with ‘DABANGG’ through his home production. He is launching his brother Arbaz Khan again, this time as Producer.
DABANGG has all the masala ingredients family drama, action, comedy, item number by Malika Arora Khan and super hero like Salman Khan. So movie was destined to be blockbuster and it grossed huge money at box office.
‘Chulbul Pandey aka Robinhood Pandey’ will be one of the most memorable character in Salman Khan’s career. Movie is set in Uttar Pradesh. It is a story of Chulbul Pandey played by Salman Khan, a totally fearless but corrupt police officer. He had a bitter childhood. His father passed away when he was very young, after which his mother played by Dimple Kapadia, married Prajapati Pandey played by Vinod Khanna. Chulbul has step brother Makhanchan played by Arbaaz Khan. Prajapati favors Makhanchan, which infuriates Chulbul. He finds love in Rajo played by Sonakshi Sinha.
But there is obviously a villain local youth political leader Cheddi Singh played by Sonu Sood, who thinks Chulbul undermining his supremacy in locality. To avenge against Chulbul he putts one brother against the other. Makhanchan ends up carrying out an act oblivious to the consequences. When Makhanchan realizes he has been used, he turns to Chulbul. Will Chulbul take his extended hand? Will the brothers be able to destroy their enemy?

The movie has everything Salman Khan Fans expect from the film. Malika Arora’s item song will be all time chart buster. Another celebrity child, daughter of Shatrughna Sinha, Sonakshi Sinha was launched in this movie and she did what was expected from her. But the villain was too overshadowed by hero, he never look powerful enough. Mahi Gill and Om Puri were totally wasted.

If I have to rate this movie I will give it 8 out of 10.










Monday, June 14, 2010

Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time



Movie Review “Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time”

Genre: Adventure, Action

Director: Mike Newell

Language: English

Star Cast: Jake Gyllenhaal, Gemma Arterton, Ben Kingsley, Alfred Molina and others

Released: 28th May 2010

‘Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time’ is a movie based on a popular video game ‘PRINCE OF PERSIA’. So if you are into games you will know what to expect from this movie. It is a full entertainment movie. It just demand from you is, buy your popcorn, sit back and enjoy the safari. No questions asked. The movie has Arabian flavor. It is colorful, exotic frames with scenes with lots of sword fighting, horse riding, snake fighting. You even can see ostrich racing.


Film is a story of Dastan (Played by Jake Gyllenhaal) who is orphan. The king of Persia found him on street and makes him Prince of Persia, his son. Dastan with his other two prince brothers wins war for Persia. They even ransack a beautiful spiritual city Alamat, ruled by Princess Tamina (Played by Gemma Arterton) as they suspect Alamat is helping Persia’s enemy. While in the conflict Dastan come across a mystical dagger which has the power of unleashing time travel and world destruction. After winning the war at home in Persia the king has been killed, and Dastan is on the run as he is the suspect. And Dastan suspects his older brother who his next in line to crown. Next you see how the murder mystery and mystery of dagger solved, and how Dastan saves the world.

All though this is brainless movie, it is worth watching. Certainly entertaining. Movie is very well directed by Mike Newell, amazing cinematography by John Seale, very well crafted action scenes. We had seen better special effects in many other movies. So it could have been better. As for the acting Jake Gyllenhall was good, he was athletic but he could have brought little more weight in the character, I don’t mean physical weight here. But just bit more profound, intense presence on the screen would have made the movie far better. Gemma Arterton was exotic, as she was expected to be. I think Ben Kingdley was little wated, he could have been utilized more.

If I have to rate this movie I will give it 7 out of 10. It’s pure masala movie, go catch it.













Friday, June 4, 2010

Saving Private Ryan



Movie Review “Saving Private Ryan”

Genre: War, Action, Drama

Director: Steven Spielberg

Writer: Robert Rodat

Producer: Steven Spielberg, Ian Bryce, Mark Gordon, Gary Levinsohn

Language: English

Star Cast: Tom Hanks, Edward Burns, Matt Damon, Tom Sizemore

Music: John Williams

Released: 1998

Saving Private Ryan is a war film set during the World War II which is directed by Steven Spielberg. I love war films and ‘Steven Spielberg’ is one of my favorite directors. So I had to watch this movie.

Movie starts with intense battle scenes. We see lot of blood and lots of dead bodies from the start. And among these we meet Captain John Miller (Played by Tom Hanks) who runs a successful mission of taking over a fort which was occupied by the Germans. After this he is given an even more difficult mission, which is to find a Private Ryan (played by Matt Damon). Private Ryan is the only surviving son in a family that has already lost three children in World War II. Returning the son alive to his family would mean a good public relations move for the Army, would make the son's mother happy. And after this mission Captain Miller, would finally be allowed to return home. Captain Miller and a team of seven soldiers set out to track the elusive Ryan who is lost somewhere in Normandy. So will they able to find Private Ryan? And will they able to save him and return home? That’s what movie is all about.

Movie has some rigorous, intensive and realistic war scenes. Steven Spielberg as a director did amazing job yet again. Cinematography and editing is excellent which is must for a film of this caliber. Tom hanks performance was exceptional. All in all I think this one is must watch movie. Don’t miss this. If I have to rate this movie, I will give it 9 out of 10.











Wednesday, September 30, 2009

Wanted - Dead or Alive



Movie Review “Wanted”

Genre: Action, Crime

Director: Prabhu Deva

Producer: Boney Kapoor

Language: Hindi

Star Cast: Salman Khan, Aayesha Takia azami, Vinod Khanna, Prakash Raj, Mahesh Manharekar, Govund Namdeo, Manoj Pawa and others

Release Date: 18th September 2009

“Wanted – Dead or Alive” the latest Salman flick is pure Bollywood meets south film. It has best of south that is violence and foul mouthed dialogues and Salman khan representing the Bollywood. ‘Wanted’ is a remake of Tamil super hit movie ‘Pokhiri’ which was also directed by Prabhu Deva.

This movie is about a contract killer named Radhe played by Salman Khan. He is a one man army type of guy and smooth killer and enjoys his job. He finds his love in a girl played by Aayesha Takia. The girl is harassed by a corrupt police officer played by Mahesh Manjarekar. Radhe shields her from time to time from Mahesh Manjarekar. The girl madly in love with Radhe wants him to change and be a good guy. This is the story but twist in the story is that Radhe is actually a undercover cop and he is hunting for international Don, Ghani played by Praksh Raj. This is the straight forward story of this movie.

While reading the story you won’t find anything new or interesting. But there are many good entertaining moments in the movies. Such as romantic scenes between Salman Khan and Aayesha Takia, cool guy attitude of salman khan, acting of Prakash Raj & Mahesh Manjarekar, and some of the action & dancing in the film. All in all it is full on masala movie. In this decade after release of ‘Dil Chahata hai’ ‘Hera Pheri’ bollywood is inclined towards experimental, realistic, or comedy movies. It seems bollywood filmmakers lost their interest in Action films. No more we see films where bad guys are beaten up by good guy. Even bollywood’s action hero like Akshay Kumar, Ajay Devgan who made their mark as action hero are moved away to other genres.

But after ‘Ghajini’ and now with ‘Wanted – Dead or Alive’ actions flicks will be back. Salman Khan’s fan will be very happy and this film will be pure treat for them. After long time Salman Khan comes up with credible performance. Aayesha Takia did her part brilliantly. But for me Prakash Raj as don and Mahesh Manjarekar as corrupt cop acted brilliantly and outdone others. Vinod Khanna was totally wasted. There is much more scope of development in the character played by Manoj Pawa. It could have been even better.

All in all it is full on entertainer. ‘Wanted – Dead or Alive’ which has larger than life hero, is a movie which is made for masses. And will be loved by them. Prabhu Deva did commendable job. Technically movie is at par with any other. Action director did wonderful job. He made most of the action in the movie believable.

If I have to rate this film it will be 6 out of 10. Anyone who is fan of Salman Khan or Action flicks must watch this movie.







Video