Showing posts with label comedy. Show all posts
Showing posts with label comedy. Show all posts

Thursday, June 4, 2015

Marathi Legendary Actor: Ashok Saraf


Ashok Saraf Marathi Actor is a living Legend. Although he is mostly remembered for his comedy roles along with other legendary actor Laxmikant Berde. But he had time and again proved his metal by enacting many negative as well as Dramatic  Roles.















Thursday, May 26, 2011

Tanu Weds Manu

Genre: Romantic Comedy
Director: Anand L Rai
Language: Hindi
Story: Himanshu Sharma
Star Cast: R Madhavan, Kangana Ranaut, Jimmy Sheirgill, Swara Bhaskar, Deepal Dobriyal, Ravi Kissen, Ejaz Khan, and others
Music: Krsna

Manoj 'Manu' Sharma played by R. Madhavan is a NRI Doctor living in London. He comes back to India on family pressure to find a bride to be and get married. He begins meeting girls lined up by his parents with his parents and his friend Pappi played by Deepak Dobriyal. First he met Tanuja 'Tanu' Trivedi played by Kangna Ranaut. While this meeting, her parents claim that she is ill so has to take tablets which made her drowsy. While Manu goes on to talks to her, he finds out that she is asleep. But he falls in love with her anyway and agrees to get married. But Tanu does not want to marry him and ask Manu to call off the wedding because she loves Raja played by Jimmy Sheirgill. Manu unwillingly calls off the wedding. But he could not forget her and get depressed. So his friend Pappi tries to get him out of it. He suggests that they should go to their friend’s Jassi played by Ejaz Khan wedding in Punjab. But the destiny brought together Tanu and Manu again. Tanu turns out to be best friend of bride to be Payal played by Swara Bhaskar. So Manu again fall back in web of love. Will he able to win back Tanu?
Main character in this movie was of Tanu. She is loud mouthed, tattooed, rebellious small town girl. Kangna Ranaut did great job in parts but her performance was not consistent enough. She played depressed girl in earlier movies so naturally but this character does not seem to come naturally to her. If she could have done little better the movie could have been outstanding. R. Madhavan was good as usual. But Deepak Dobriyal steals the show in various scenes. Director Anand L Rai did very good job. I will like to watch his next movie. Krsna put together good Music Album.
If I have to rate this movie I will give 7 out of 10.










Friday, May 20, 2011

Dil Toh Bachha Hai Ji

 Genre: Romantic Comedy
Director: Madhur Bhandarkar
Language: Hindi
Story: Madhur Bhandarkar, Anil Pandey, Neeraj Udwani
Star Cast: Ajay Devgan, Emraan Hashmi, Omi Vaidya, Tisca Chopra, Shazahn Padmasee, Shruti Hassan, Shraddha Das
Music: Pritam

“Dil To Baccha Hai Ji” is first attempt from well known and appreciated film director Madhur Bhandarkar in light hearted romantic comedy genre. Before this he made very hardcore serious film and was very successful at it. So what made him try for a change, only he knows; but I am happy he did not opt for crazy slapstick comedy.
This movie is about three guys sharing a room. Naren played by Ajay Devgn is a divorcee who is going through a midlife crisis. He falls in love with his office secretary June played by Shahazn Padamsee. But in the end he finds out she was never interested in him. Then there is Milind a goofy guy played by 3 Idiots fame Omi Vaidya.  He falls in love with an aspiring actress cum RJ played by Shradha Das. She exploits Milind’s money for her advantage. Then there is playboy Abhay played by Emraan Hashmi. He becomes a toyboy to famous socialite played by Tisca Chopra and enjoys all the privileges from this relationship until he falls in love with the daughter of same socialite played by Shruti Hassan. Who also use Abhay as Toyboy for time being and dumps him.
So this is a story of how all of them fall in love head over their heels and eventually gets heartbroken by girls. Although the script tries to be funny, it failed to do so in various scenes. But as for acting all 3 major actors did great job.
If I have to rate this movie I will give it 6 out of 10.













Wednesday, April 6, 2011

NO STRINGS ATTACHED

Movie Review “No Strings Attached” (2011)


Genre: Romantic Comedy
Director: Ivan Reitman
Language: English
Story: Michael Samonek, Elizabeth Meriwether
Screenplay: Elizabeth Meriwether
Star Cast: Natalie Portman, Ashton Kutcher, Kevin Kline, Cary Elwes and others

 I had to admit, I watched this movie because Ashton Kutcher is in it. He is like a veteran now in Romantic Comedy movies but I like his “Butterfly Effect” the most. I like this actor.
To tell you what this movie is about, as the title says “No Strings Attached”, it is a story of 2 people who don’t want to get into any relationship. They just want physical relationship and no emotional attachment. But can they sustain it?
Adam played by Ashton Kutcher and Emma played by Natalie Portman first meet at camp, then several years later, at a party. Several years after that Adam has been dumped by a hot girlfriend and not just dumped she dumped him for his father. Adam drinks himself silly and next morning he finds himself naked in Emma's apartment, where she stays with her roommates. They have sex, next day Adam approach Emma to take one step forward but Emma is not interested in relationship. Instead she proposes that they should be using each other for sex without any emotional attachment. Adam obviously agrees and they have raunchy sex for days. You will think Adam will be happiest person in the world. But no he wants more; he wants to be in relationship with Emma. Will Emma agree? We will find that out end of the movie.
There are no dull moments in the movie as such. Like any other romantic comedy, this is light hearted entertaining movie. Both actors are pleasing to eyes and carried the role easily.
If I have to rate this movie I will give it 6 out of 10.








Saturday, March 26, 2011

Band Baaja Baraat

Movie Review “Band Baaja Baaraat”(2010)


Genre: Romantic Comedy
Director: Manish Sharma
Language: Hindi
Story: Maneesh Sharma
Screenplay: Habib Faisal
Star Cast: Anushka Sharma, Ranvir Singh
Banner: Yashraj

“Band Baaja Baaraat” is one of the better films in 2010. Bollywood always sucks in romantic comedy genre compared to Hollywood movies. But BBB is exception to it. Director Maneesh Sharma presented very refreshing and entertaining flick. For last few years bollywood movie stories are moving towards north India. It’s not about either Mumbai or Switzerland anymore. Delhi is on radar for all the filmmakers now. The over the top filmy characters you can find in Delhi, you won’t get it anywhere and this movie is excellent example of the same. Director Maneesh Sharma and his team captured the Delhi perfectly.
As far as the story is concerned it is about Shruti Kakkar played by Anushka Sharma. She is very ambitious, go-getter type of girl. She wants to start her own business of wedding planner. She started to work towards her dream while studying in college. At the same time there is Bittoo Sharma played by debutant Ranvir Singh. He is a laid-back guy with no aspiration in life. His only ambition is to run away from his father and his family business of farming. Bittoo happens to see Shruti and falls in love with her. He tries to woo her but ambitious Shruti tells him, she has no time for love and tells him her business plan to start a wedding consultancy ‘Shadi Mubarak’. Bittoo convince her somehow to make him partner in ‘Shadi Mubarak’. Then how they struggle at the start, then find the success. Fall in love, then breaks up and make up. That is a story of BBB.
I am really impressed with directoe Maneesh Sharma. Movie had brilliant screenplay written by Habib Faisal. As for acting Anushka Sharma did her part with ease, so did the newcomer Ranvir Singh. Both of them were brilliant. Music of the film by Salim-Suleiman makes the movie even better experience. The first half of the movie was excellent, flawless but the second half starts lagging. And the climax could have been better.
If I have to rate this movie I will give it 8 out of 10.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Monday, March 21, 2011

Mumbai Pune Mumbai

 Movie Review “Mumbai Pune Mumbai” (2010)

Genre: Romantic Comedy
Director: Satish Rajwade
Language: Marathi
Story, Screenplay: Parag Kulkarni, Satish Rajwade
Dialogues: Parag Kulkarni
Star Cast: Swapnil Joshi, Mukta Barve
Banner: Mirah Entertainments Pvt. Ltd.

We had seen endless number of comedy movies in Marathi. But not many of them will feature in romantic comedy genre. “Mumbai Pune Mumbai” is one romantic comedy everyone must see. It is nothing but good movie watching experience. The argument between Mumbaikar and Punekar are age old. Both try to better each other. We read about it in many novels many TV shows and movie. Yet it is as fresh as a blooming flower every day. We never get tired of it. We will get the same hilarious argument in this movie too between a young Mumbai girl and Puna boy.

A young modern girl played by Mukta Barve, travels alone from Mumbai to Pune just to meet her probable husband selected by her mother. While looking for address, she asks one local boy played by Swapnil Joshi, exact location of the house. These are two protagonist of the movie and these are only two characters in the movie. When the girl reaches her destination she finds the house locked. So she decides to leave and call the probable husband later saying she is not interested. On the way she meets the local Puna boy again and decides to roam around Pune for the remaining day. So during the day when they are together we find the different lifestyles of two neighboring cities. But this arguments and counter arguments somehow bring them together. So will they carry forward it into any relationship? What will happen to the probable husband? We will fund it out in a climax of the movie.

There is not a dull moment in 100 minutes movie. So Director Satish Rajwade must be commended for this. He did excellent job. As for acting Swapnil Joshi was absolutely brilliant. He was in top form. Mukta Barve did great but her accent could have been better for Mumbai born modern girl’s character, which Swapnil adapted perfectly. Technically movie had no flaws. Movie is good visual treat, great work by cinematographer. Movie is a different experiment in Marathi Cinema and was successful one. I will say it set the standard for any other romantic movie.

If I have to rate this movie I will give it 9 out of 10.














Tuesday, February 22, 2011

JHOOTHA HI SAHI

Movie Review “Jhootha Hi Sahi” (2010)


Genre: Romantic comedy
Director: Abbas Tyrewala
Language: Hindi
Star Cast: John Abrahm, R. Madhavan, Pakhi, Raghu Ram, Manasi Scott, Anaitha Nair, Nandana Sen, Alishka Varde and others.

After hugely successful JAANE TU YA JAANE NA, Abbas Tyrewala comes up with one more romantic comedy JHOOTHA HI SAHI. It is refreshing than our regular romantic movies.

It is a story of Siddharth played by John Abraham who runs an Indian bookshop in London. I like the name of this bookshop - 'Kagaz Ke Phool', innovative and apt name for bookshop. This shop is co-owned by his Pakistani friend Omar played by MTV Rodies fame Raghu Ram. Siddharth has a girlfriend name Krutika played by Manasi Scott, who is very dominating. One night, Siddharth starts getting calls from unknown people who are attempting to commit suicide. He later comes to know that his number was mistakenly printed on fliers of an Indian emergency suicide helpline. Now, it's upon him to answer and help callers who want to end their lives. Bizarre isn’t it, but that’s how we meet Mishka played by Pakhi, who wants to attempt suicide because her boyfriend left her. Obviously Siddharth comforts her and stops her from committing suicide. In the process they became very close phone friend. Siddharth knows her name, but Mishka doesn't know his. So when they meet Siddharth recognizes her but not Mishka. With the help of his friendship with Mishka on the phone, Siddharth manages to woo Mishka. But what will happens when Siddharth’s girlfriend will find out? What if Mishka’s boyfriend comes back? What will happen when mishka knows the truth? Will that endanger their friendship too?

You will find it through some drama and some comedy. But I would have like to see some more drama and specially comedy. Abbas Tyrewalla did good job but there was much more scope to explore the script and situations. As for the actors John Abrahm did his best but I think he could not do enough justice to the character. Same goes for Pakhi. Stand out actor in this movie was undoubtedly Raghu Ram. He did it with ease, it seemed like he was not acting but playing himself.

If I have to rate this movie I will give it 6 out of 10.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Tuesday, February 8, 2011

BREAK KE BAAD

Movie Review “Break Ke Baad” (2010)


Genre: Romantic comedy
Director: Danish Aslam
Language: Hindi
Star Cast: Imran khan, Deepika Padukone, Sharmila Tagor, Shahana Goswami and others

‘Break Ke Baad’ is a romantic comedy, so it is as predictable as every other movie of this genre. But still we go for these movies to check out the chemistry and romance between two actors and if there is any new perspective by director. In this movie we see Imran Khan and Deepika Padukone first time together on the screen. And that was the biggest attraction of the movie. Both Imran and Deepika are playing similar characters they played in earlier movies. Imran’s character is similar to his ‘Jane Tu Ya Jane Na’ character. And Deepika played similar charcter in ‘Bachna Ae Haseeno’ and ‘Love Aaj Kal’.

The movie is a story of two childhood friends, Abhay Gulati (played by Imran Khan) and Aaliya Khan (played by Deepika Padukone). They both love each other and are in relationship for many years. Aaliya is an aspiring actress against her mother’s (played by Sharmila Tagor) wishes. Abhay is a bemused guy who works with his father. But he hates his job. Aaliya decides to go to Australia for studies. And because of this their relationship started to fall apart. So Aaliya decides to break-up with Abhay. And how Abhay cope up with it and is he able to win her back?

Well as I said earlier movie is predictable, nothing new to watch. Movie has some good comic, emotional, romantic moments in it. But at the end of the movie you don’t feel much has happened. There are no twists throughout the film. Imran Khan worked well as a lover boy and seems believable. Deepika Padukone supposed to be on her home ground, so did good job. I will like to see her in different characters next time, to see if she can handle it.

All in all BREAK KE BAAD is an average film, if I have to rate this movie I will give it 6 out of 10.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Wednesday, January 5, 2011

GOLMAAL 3

Movie Review “GolMaal 3” (2010)


Genre: Comedy
Director: Rohit Shetty
Language: Hindi
Star Cast: Ajay Devgan, Arshad Warsi, Kareena Kapoor, Mithun Chakraborty, Shreyas Talpade, Tushar Kapoor, Kunal Khemu and others

Golmal is back, Rohit Shetty is back with another dose of crazy comedy of Golmal. This is a third movie in the hugely successful Golmal series. This movie is as expected nothing different than prequels Golmaal and Golmaal Returns. It is as mad comedy as them if not madder. Comedy is Rohit Shetty’s specialty, in this movie he might not excel but maintained his standard. Ajay Devgan seems to be his favorite actor or may be lucky for him as Rohit cast him in his every movie. It seems Ajay Devgan gave the action and enjoys doing comedy now or just riding the new comedy wave in Bollywood today. Rohit Sheety repeated same star cast of “Golmaal Returns” except the actresses other than Kareena Kapoor are out. And Kunal Khemu and Mithun Chakraborty is added to the team.

“Golmaal 3” will remind you a Basu Chatterjee’s movie “Khatta Meetha” in 70’s starring Ashok Kumar, Pearl Padamsee, Rakesh Roshan and others. It is one of my favorite movies. Although movie is released as a sequel to Golmaal and Golmaal Returns the story of this movie bears no similarity to it. There is no connection whatsoever other that same star cast. The movie is set in Goa, as most of the Rohit Shetty’s movies are.

The movie is typically made for festive season; it is nothing but mad entertainment. All the actors are simply brilliant. Kareena Kapoor bagged bigger and more important role in this part. Although movie is good it is not as good as first “Golmaal”. If I have to rate this movie I will give it 7 out of 10.





















Sunday, October 10, 2010

KHATTA MEETHA



Movie Review “Khatta Meetha” (2010)

Genre: Comedy

Director: Priyadarshan

Language: Hindi

Star Cast: Akshay Kumar, Trisha Krishnan, Rajpal Yadav, Johny Lever and others

“Khatta Meetha” is one more Priyadarshan comedy; but this time with some social message. This is a remake of Priydarshan’s own blockbuster movie “Vellankaludu Nadu” in south. Akshay Kumar yet again joins hands with the comedy guru. Priyadarshan always delivers entertaining light hearted cinema. In Khatta Meetha he tries to combine comedy and drama together.

Sachin(Played by Akshay Kumar) the only member of his family who is yet to do well in his profession of road making contractor. Everyone around him thinks he is a loser including his family. He goes on to make one blunder after another. Meantime his brother and brother in laws who are corrupted are responsible for making a bridge which fell down in only few days of making and kills 100’s of people. Instead of taking responsibility of the disaster they try to cover it up by framing their driver and killed him too. Will there be justice? Will Sachin ever going to be successful?

For me movie is entertaining as any Priydarshan movie; but he could not blend comedy and drama as well as he should. All the acting performances are almost perfect. Akshay Kumar and Rajpal Yadav excelled everyone else by far. Trisha Krishnan looks beautiful I her Bollywood debut movie. It was refreshing to see her in Bollywood. But her acting performance wasn’t impressive enough.

If I have to rate this movie it will be 6 out of 10.













Friday, March 19, 2010

3 IDIOTS



Movie Review “3 Idiots”

Genre: Comedy, social, drama

Director: Rajkumara Hirani

Language: Hindi

Star Cast: Aamir Khan, R. Madhvan, Sharman Joshi, Boman Irani, Omi Vaidya, Kareena Kapoor, Mona Singh, Javed Jafry and Others

“3 Idiots” had high expectation even before it release for many reasons. To list few, the movie was supposedly based on Chetan Bhagat’s popular book “Five Point Someone”. It was next release of Aamir Khan after ‘Ghajini’ which was we all know was block buster hit. Then it was next project of Rajkumar Hirani and Vidhu Vinod Chopra after “Munnbhai Series….” Aamir Khan and Kareena Kapoor paired with each other first time. Movie has excellent ensemble cast.

Sometimes this big hype before movie release cause downfall of many movies. But “3 Idiots” fulfilled all the expectation beyond imagination. “3 Idiots” is ingenious acting performances, direction, and script. Once again Rajkumar Hirani and Vidhu Vinod Chopra comes up with highly entertaining movie with social message.

Movie criticizes Indian education system and Indian students learning style. Today in India knowledge is secondary to numbers or marks. Movie tells us to learn the books acquire knowledge, experiment with it, and try new things rather than just mugging up or following path laid by others. Make your own way, live life on your own terms.

Although the movie has superstar like Aamir Khan, other actors like newcomer Omi Vaidya and Boman Irani stand out. All of us surely going to love these 3 idiots immensely and going to remember not only Rancho (played by Aamir Khan) but also Chatur (Played by Omi Vaidya) and Prof. Sahastrabuddhe (Played by Boman Irani) for long long time. I can see producers of this movie making sequel of “3 Idiots”.

If I have to rate this movie I will give it 9 out of 10.






Video